Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Daniel Morcombe Child Safety Curriculum

​The Daniel Morcombe Child Safety Curriculum

The Daniel Morcombe Child Safety Curriculum (PDF,609KB) is the result of collaboration between the is the result of collaboration between the Department of Education, Training and Employment and experts in child safety education and child protection. The curriculum aims to assist students to recognise, react to and report potentially unsafe situations.

There are three phases of the curriculum: Prep – Year 2, Years 3–6 and Years 7–9. Contemporary evidence-based research has been used throughout to ensure the curriculum includes valid learning experiences about safety for students from Prep – Year 9.

This guide, for parents and carers of students in Years 7–9, is part of a range of resources supporting the curriculum and the safety of your children.

Child Safety education works best when families and teachers are communicating similar messages with children about their personal safety. This guide contains key safety messages, an outline of the lessons covered in this phase of the curriculum and tips for communicating with your children about this topic. In addition there are resources you can use at home and strategies to support children and young people who report harmful situations.

Parents are encouraged to talk to their children about what they are learning at school, including these safety messages.